Arctic nations to meet amid drilling concerns

World’s eight Arctic nations are meeting in Alaska amid concerns about the future of the sensitive region. Recently United States President Donald Trump called for more oil drilling and development.

About Artic Council

  • Arctic Council is an advisory body that promotes cooperation among member nations and indigenous groups.
  • The main focus is on sustainable development and environmental protection of the Arctic.
  • It does not make policy or allocate resources, and its decisions must be unanimous.

Members of the Council

  • Eight member countries : Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States.300px-ArcticCouncil.svg
  • Only states with territory in the Arctic can be members of the Council.
  • The Council also has permanent and ad hoc observer countries and permanent participants.
  • India has an observer status, Observers have no voting rights in the Council.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s