Specialized Agencies under UN

About the Agencies

Specialized agencies are autonomous organizations working with the United Nations and each other through the coordinating machinery of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (one of the principal organ of UN) at the intergovernmental level, and through the Chief Executives Board for coordination (CEB) at the inter-secretariat level. Specialized agencies may or may not have been originally created by the United Nations, but they are incorporated into the United Nations System by the United Nations Economic and Social Council acting under Articles 57 and 63 of the United Nations Charter. At present the UN has in total 15 specialized agencies that carry out various functions on behalf of the UN.

The 15 Specialized agencies are :

  1. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).
  2. International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).
  3. International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)
  4. International Labour Organization (ILO)
  5. International Maritime Organization (IMO)
  6. International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  7. International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
  8. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  9. United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
  10. Universal Postal Union (UPU)
  11. World Bank Group (WBG)
  12. World Health Organization (WHO)
  13. World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
  14. World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
  15. World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s